All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies, once they get well established and start generating revenues from their products and services, start focussing on the efficiency of their operations to further increase the profits and turnover. Large companies are essentially big machines. Every system is interconnected while being independent in their way of performing the operations.

To perform a task like identifying the efficiency of operations in a company, it requires creation of a new team and assigning it a task of analysing the operations of the company. This in turn requires man power, compute power and other resources which might turn out to be expensive in the long run. Every company would not be able to afford this new set of expenses. There may not be enough employees who are proficient at identifying the various inefficient operations in a company and provide solutions for the same. This leads to the question of choosing the inexpensive yet efficient choice for evaluating a company.

The company can decide to hire outside consultants who are specialists in finding flaws and providing solutions to improve the efficiency. This way, the company can focus on its day to day business operations while accommodating inputs from the consultant company.

The question that now occurrs is if these consultants are really necessary. If one looks a the perspective of an employee, since they are the ones performing the operations of the company, they would have a better knowledge on which operation in a company is performing efficiently compared to other operations. The employees as a whole would be aware of the points that are dragging down the rest of the operations of a company. If the management spent time with the employees discussing about this, the company can internally improve its efficiency and effectiveness. This is slightly advantageous as the internal details and private information of the company which would have been shared with the consulting firm. The hardship with this is that now the employees are also forced to think about ways of improving the company than just doing their job which might hinder the day to day operations of the company.

The best way forward for any company is not to choose one of these choices. It is to choose a good mixture of both. In certain matters, the ideas of employees would be better and when it comes to the overall performance of the company, the consultancy firm can provide better solutions on improving the efficiency of the company.