The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author here claims that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight and not on manned space flight. The reasons they provide is that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. The author also claims that we have extracted a lot of information about space by sending unmanned space probes and satellites in a cheaper and risk free manner.

The biggest flaw of this argument is that the author is unaware of the amount of information that can be further extracted by sending humans into space. The author has failed to compare the differences in the amount of information extracted by just senors in satellites versus the benefits one gets when these are manually configured by humans and are observed.

The addition of a human element is definitely an expensive one as humans are very fragile in space. This is a very dangerous situation for a human too. But the amount of data collected and inferences drawn from a human observing and drawing conclusions than just machines performing the tasks is very high.

The additional risks of unmanned space is that it is a series of steps or instructions. The tasks that are to be performed are decided on Earth, and then programmed into the satellite. The satellite performs the same and sends back the results. This is assuming that the satellite reaches the destination, is able to communicate with the ground controllers, and absolutely nothing goes wrong or deviates from the initial plan. In case there is an aberration from the expected working, the uncertainity of the mission going wrong increases rapidly. The entire mission might be a failure. This is where human intervention would be extremely effective. If very minute things go wrong which without a human on the flight would render the mission a failure, the humans on board can fix this instantly and further continue the mission.

The technology we have presently cannot think or perform like a human does. The other factor the author is not considering is whether the increased cost and risk by sending humans into space is higher than a number of failed unmanned missions which could have been fixed by humans onboard, in the long run. Thus, one can refute the authors claim that we should invest our resources solely in unmanned space flight.