The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the recent increase in private contributions and attendance, in addition to plans for increased ticket prices, are certainly positive signs for the Grandview Beacon, these recent developments alone are insufficient to support a recommendation of eliminating city funding for the symphony. In order to substantiate this claim, the city should first understand the Symphony’s current breakdown of revenue/funding, conduct market research to understand whether these positive trends are likely to persist for years to come, and consider the consequences of increasing ticket prices.

In order to understand whether the symphony can truly run without the city’s funding, the city should seek to understand the breakdown of its revenue sources. It is possible that in spite of positive trends in private contributions and ticket sales of the concert-in-the-park series, the majority of the symphony’s funding and revenue comes from the city’s contributions or other unmentioned sources. In other words, if private contributions and concert-in-the-park series only comprised a small majority of the symphony’s revenues in previous years, doubling these figures would be insufficient in making the symphony self-sufficient. Moreover, there may be other unmentioned sources of funding that are concurrently decreasing or staying flat, such as other concert series, partnerships, and private commissions; it is thus important to understand the myriad of sources that the symphony uses to cover its costs to better contextualize recent trends.

Even if private contributions and ticket sales were to constitute the majority of Symphony funding, it is crucial for the city to evaluate whether these positive trends are likely to continue in upcoming years. The city should look to conduct market research to understand future potential of private contributors and ticket sales, as well as considering the shifting cost landscape. While this year’s numbers were certainly favorable, they do not signal that these trends will continue in future years. It is possible that in order to sustain these trends, the Symphony may have to invest more money to attract donors and audience members, which may generate higher costs in the short term. Thus, there should be ample consideration about the shifting revenue/cost trends based on the local economy and the Symphony market as a whole, as this year’s numbers alone cannot serve as a predictor for the future.

Finally, while certain initiatives like raised ticket prices may appear to be a means of increased revenue, the city should also keep in mind that these initiatives may not result in a revenue boost. The city should investigate whether the increase in price would ultimately produce a higher gross revenue in spite of the lost audience members who may be priced out due to the increase. The increase in price alone cannot signal a boost in revenue; a net increase would require that the loss in volume be relatively lower. This fact, compounded with the lack of knowledge of how much ticket revenues actually account for total revenues, generates a need for further analysis and research, as it is possible that increased ticket prices may actually put the Symphony at a greater financial disadvantage.

Ultimately, the facts at hand are highly insufficient in substantiating the claim that the Symphony can run without city funding. In order to support this recommendation with reliable facts, the city must investigate the full scope of the Symphony’s funding, understand future market trends, and consider the unintended revenue consequences of initiatives like ticket increases. Only after these questions have been answered can the city comfortably withdraw funding from the Symphony in good faith.