The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village r

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the assumption that time doesn’t play any role the research. Furthermore, it is also considered that the rearing and talking about parents is equivalent. Thus making the weak argument that Tertian village culture as well as the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid.

The argument is mainly invalid owing to the reason that it doesn’t considered the fact that Dr. Field’s research was carried out twenty years ago. As the time changes the tradition also changes in the villages. The children who were observed by Dr Field are now adults and hence maybe they were reared by the whole village but as the two decades have passed the parents are more protective towards the children and therefore tertian village culture is obsoleted. Dr Karp should have also interviewed the adults who were children at the time Dr Field study was executed. Though this would have given a much strong reason to extrapolate that the Tertain village culture was invalid yet this argument this fails to validate that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid.

The argument also fails to give strong evidence that the children of Tertain are not reared by the whole village. The argument that the talk more about their biological parents only give any strong proof that they are reared by their biological parents. May be the children are not good in communicating or maybe they are repeating the things that the children of the other islands are answering. This can also be considered that they are reared by the whole village but they have more affection towards their parents. As a result, we can say that besides interviewing the children, observing the children’s lifestyle is an integral aspect to validate that Tertain village culture is not practiced. Therefore concluding that interview based approach is better approach that observation centered is inaccurate.

As the argument has left many unanswered question as well as many factors has been ignored in the argument. Thus it fails to make convincing case that interview based approach is much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions.