The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues here that observation-centred approach to studying cultures is invalid and interview-centred method establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in islands cultures. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion, the author notes that. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that, it provides with little credible support for author’s conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or in substantiated

First of all, the argument readily argues assumes that there is no change in the Tertia and surrounding island group. This is merely an assumption, made without much said on the ground. For example, this should be looked on. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that, Tertia population has not changed over time.

The argument readily claims that Dr. Karp and his graduate student conducted interviews in the group of islands including Tertia. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between A and B. To illustrate further, let us look at the example. If the argument had provided evidence that, , then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally the author, cites/notes that certain questions were asked. But in order to evaluate this claim we might need to get hold of those questions to check the how relative they are. However careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides, little credible support for author’s conclusion in several critical respect & raises several sceptical questions. Without convincing answers to those questions, the reader is left with the impression, that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster, it further the author must provide clear/better/more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey or a detailed analysis of main topic. Finally to better assess/evaluate the argument/survey, it would be necessary to know more information about why observation-centred approach to studying cultures is invalid and interview-centred method establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in islands cultures