The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument avers that sales of Whirlwind video games will be skyrocketed in the nearest future owing to the fact that its new games supposedly will match the video-gamers' expectations. This statement is based on evidence which is connected with the conclusion by several assumptions which should be carefully scrutinized in order to gauge the soundness of the argument.

First of all, we are told that a recent survey of video-game players suggests that they prefer games which possess a lifelike graphics, which require the most powerful and modern computers. However, the writer's usage of the results of the survey in this argument is questionable for several reasons. Firstly, the fact that these surveyed gamers prefer the lifelike graphics does not mean that they will buy them. Probably, they like these games for their excellent graphics and atmosphere but in fact they play some online-games which have interesting plot and convenient gameplay. Additionally to it, even if these gamers are indeed going to buy games with the high-class graphics which requires the up-to-date computers, they may be at age of thirty or even older; consequently, the usage for the argument of this survey is unreasonably due to the fact that Whirlwind's games are aimed on the people ten to twenty-five years old.

Furthermore, we are given information that Whirlwind video games is going to introduce several such games and that they directed at people from 10 to 25 years old. We also know that these games require a modern equipment which perhaps cost a large amount of money. Do the people who belong to the supposed buyers have enough money to purchase these computers? The answer is probably "no" because children under age 18 have little money in their possessions and they mainly depend on parents' support who supposedly may not agree to spend several thousands of dollars on a hi-end computer which will be obsolete after a couple of years. The people at age from 18 to 25 usually have not got a decent income due to absence of education and as a result decent job. Moreover, some of these young adults are studying at college or university and perhaps have a loan which should be paid. Thus the author's belief that these new-video games will be bought by the people from 10 to 25 is infirm and weal.

Finally, the argument claims that the sales of Whirlwind will enhance dramatically in the next mounts. However, we have demonstrated that the evidence used to support this claim is weak. Moreover, many other reasons may lead to the absence of expected result. For instance, the county's economy may undergo stagnation and people avoid spending on items which are not necessary. Moreover, Whirwind may have several rivals who perhaps have games with the same or even better characteristics. In these conditions the leadership of Whirlwind video games is questionable and thus the sudden increase in sales may never happen.

In conclusion, the author of the text states that the sales of Whirlwind video games should increase in the nearest future; however, he or she does not manage to create a solid support for this belief. Our analysis has displayed argument's weaknesses and loopholes which allow us to claim that the argument is unwarranted.