The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There is an ambiguity in the argument which says that wearing a helmet has led to increase in the accidents. And failed to provide the legitimate proof for the argument made. The others reasons which are stated as the major ones for occurring of accidents even though people habituated to helmets are still anonymous raising the doubts on legitimacy of the statement.

Another claim made as people are taking more risk as they wear helmets has two faces to it. While the percentage of people wearing helmets is better than it was ten years before, it is not at it’s best even. This indicates how awareness among the people have grown about the safety measures to be taken while riding bicycles. Even though there still exists a group of people who are not well aware. Only a percentage close to 100 can save people from accidents.

The reasons for the increase in accidents is may be carelessness among the bicyclists and the one who supervises them. Bicyclist having been performing their best are forced to push their limits because of the competitiveness from other contestants. So, they are forced to take new risks so as to reach their dream. This is the main reasons for why they are being too audacious and are finally falling prey to accidents.

The government should make awareness programs about helmets as well as other aspects of safety measures because wearing a helmet only would not give complete immunity from accidents. The true immunity come with following the legal measures. The government alone cannot do much without the active involvement of the public. So, each individual should be as careful as a lion before hunt starts.