The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to a health newspaper, the number of bicyclist wearing a helmet increased from approximately 35 % to nearly 80%. However, although using helmet is believed to reduce the number of accidents, on the other hand, the number of bicyclists got accident, in fact, increased 200 percent. As a result, based on the health newspaper, the government should concentrate more on providing proper education pertaining to bicycling and safety to people instead of encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. The author states that there are several facts that, however, we cannot dispute, but this argument also hinges on unstated assumptions that should be revealed beforehand in order to make the argument convincing, namely, the number of people bicycling 10 years ago compared to people do now, how long they usually do this activity, as well as the importance of education on reducing the accidents number.

First of all, based on the newspaper, the number of people bicycling increase up to nearly 80 percent from roughly 35 percent. At first, we need to know whether this newspaper publishes the nationwide study that is valid and how the study is conducted. Take, for instance, that the study only depend on the report from bicyclist who got accident, without knowing that there were more people actually getting accident, yet they never reported those accidents. If the validity of the study is bereft of critical foundations such as the dependence only on reporting from people, then the result might be fallacious that the number of people wearing helmet has been improved over ten years. Thus, the argument presented to encourage less on wearing helmet would be apocryphal.

Turning to the second point of the study, the study shows that the number of bicyclist getting accidents actually increase approximately 200 percent. In order to believe that wearing helmet would not be effective, we need to know how bad the impact of accident on people wearing helmet and people without no protection. If we could find that the effect on people without protection such as helmet, then the conclusion to focus more on education would not be cogent. In addition, there is also another possibility if the bicyclists actually do more activities and take longer hours in bicycling nowadays than 10 years ago. Further, we should also know whether the number of bicyclist increase on what proportion over 10 years. With this information in place, the argument stated would not be merely convincing, but robust.

Last but not least, the argument points out that rather than wearing helmet, the government should focus more on encouraging people to get proper education. In order for this argument to have weight, we need to know directly from the bicyclist and authorities such as police regarding the causes of their injuries. Did they get accident because they did not know the proper rule or safety road? If so, then the argument concluded on the health magazine would be warranted that people need education.

To put it in a nutshell, the argument presented on the article gives an interesting hypothesis regarding people wearing helmet during bicycling. However, there are some evidence we need to know before rashly concluding that wearing helmet is not effective and providing education instead would be effective, namely the data of number people bicycling 10 years ago and today, the reasons behind the accident, as well as the validity of the study conducted and published on that health newspaper.