Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is undeniably true that in order to discover something that has an immediate and practical application, we need to expand our researches beyond the areas that we expect to find the outcome. However, it does not necessarily mean that we cannot predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty. In some circumstances, we, however, can discover something that has an immediate and practical application by merely harnessing few areas.

First and foremost, in order to know whether we should not limit our investigations to only those areas in which we expect to find something important, we have to know how much budget that we have as well as the resources because expanding our researchers would need much more money, such as for providing equipment. Although we should not limit our research area, we should realize our capability. If we do not have sufficient budget and resources to conduct the research, then it is difficult and not prudent to focus on more areas. Our first priority is always to discover the immediate and practical application by using the most probable areas in which we find something that we want.

In addition to the sufficiency of the budget and the resource available, we should also correlate our research with the time that we have. Should we finish the research as soon as possible because we have tight schedule or is it quite long for us to carry out the research? If we do not have much time, then we should focus on the areas in which we more likely to discover something that has an immediate and practical application.

Last but not least, although it seems arduous to predict the outcome of a line of research, particularly the complex and enigmatic research involving many variables, it does not necessarily mean that we could not predict the research with any certainty. Take, for example, the researchers pursuing doctoral degree who want to run a basic chemistry research in a laboratory. In the past, there were so many scientists and lectures who ever conducted the result thoroughly and published the result in journal website or internet. Further, they have adjusted that experiment with the theory and the result was convincing and cogent. Then, the students studied that result and did the similar experiment and predicted the outcome that they believed. So, it would be possible to forecast the outcome of a line of research with any certainty in such circumstance.

To reiterate, in order to ensure that we should not limit our investigation to merely those areas in which we expect to discover something that has an immediate and practical application, we should consider several factors beforehand including the money and the resource that we have, the availability, and, of course, our time. The statement claiming that we should not limit our investigation for those areas because it is impossible to predict the result of a line of research with any certainty is fallacious since in some circumstances, we can inarguably find out the result of a research without conducting the experiment thoroughly because it has been ever done by other people.