The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this letter argues that a sustainable decrease in the accidents between pedestrians and mopeds of the Balmer island can be achieved by decreasing the number of mopeds rental from 50/ day to 25/day during the summertime. This conclusion was made based on data provided by several suburb islands such as Seaville. The assumptions made by the author are ambiguous and leave room to a number of questions.

The first question is how similar is Seaville to Balmer? In other words, can the outcomes that happened in the Seaville occur in Balmer if the same actions are made? The author assumes that the two islands are analogic but they might be disparate. Perhaps, the number of citizens in Balmer is more than it is in Seaville making the process of reducing the rental per day a superficial solution. Moreover, if the inhabitants are numerous then cutting the rental can cause a huge need for transportation.

The second question to be asked is: Is it correct to compare a period of about 3 months to a period of a whole year? The author used the fact that the accidents of Seaville decrease by 50 percent last year, without stating if this data was made for all type of accidents or for mopeds only, and attempts to apply them on summertime season. Possibly, that the accidents due to mopeds increased in that year but the decrease over the whole year in different aspects overshadowed it.

The third question is: Are mopeds the only reason that causes the increase in accidents during the summer months? Indeed, many other reasons might cause accidents. For example, the paths of pedestrians might be narrow or not provided at all. Thus, the interaction between cars and mopeds with pedestrians rises and it also is proportional to the number of citizens there.

In conclusion, the assumptions of the author weaken the arguments and make the conclusion erroneous. They have to answer to these main questions and provide plausible inputs so that the solution given can work.