The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In this letter, the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette claims that the council of Balmer Island Gazette should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies to cut mopeds accidents. To support her argument, she reasons that through this policy, the number of accidents will decrease as less half as now. And she cited result of the similar policy which was enforced by the neighboring Seaville island. Careful scrutiny reveals that her claims have several logical flaws.

To begin with, the editor hastily assumes that the main cause of the increasing number of accidents is due to the enlargement of the population and user of mopeds. There could be possibilities that there are other factors that affect occurring of the accidents. For example, not the increasing number of users, the real factor could be uncarefulness of users such as violating speed limits or the accidents could be occurred by users or drivers of other vehicles like cars, buses, and taxies. If this is true, this argument is not cogent.

Secondly, she unsoundly thinks that the near island has similar conditions whose the Balmer island have. There is no such guarantee, although the policy was effective in Seaville island, that similar policy will work in the Balmer Island. As I mentioned above, the cause of accidents in Seaville Island can be different from Balmer Island or road conditions could be different. Also, although other conditions are almost same with Balmer Islands in that time, the time when the policy was enforced by the council was last year. During the term of one year, the condition could have been changed. If she cannot explain why she thinks the policy in Seaville Island will be also effective in Balmer island, her assumption is improper.

Finally, if we concede other assumptions are true, there is still a crucial problem. She cited the result which was surveyed for 1 year. However, her suggestion is reduced to the summer months. Although the annual number of accidents decreased, in the summertime, the number of accidents could be maintained or even increasing. Until she provides us with specific data about the number of accidents occurred in summer months, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this letter more persuasive, the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette have to explain why she thinks the past conditions of Seaville island are similar to the present conditions of Balmer Island and what is the real factors of accidents. To evaluate better, we must be given specific data which tell the effect of the policy in Seaville Islands during summer months.