The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

The editor of a journal received a letter on environmental issues which implies that the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia and mining copper in this region will result in an inevitable increase in pollution which can be accounted harmful for the endangered species existing in this region. The writer of letter suggests the editor that if the consumers refuse to purchase the products of Crust Copper Company, than the company will abandon its mining plans. The writer stated an opinion based on an incomplete study of the situation. Many questions arises regarding the extant of the endangered species. What is the reason behind the species being endangered ? Is pollution a prime factor that causes harm to the species ? Here, the writer failed to answer these questions and gave a remedy without considering the factors.

Firstly, the writer states that CCC purchased 10,000 square miles of land, but he did not mention about why the company bought a large area of land. He implied that the company bought land for mining copper, but the land can be used for any other purpose too. Hence, the writer failed to give a bolster evidence that the company bought the land for mining purpose.

Secondly, he tried to convince the editor that the pollution caused by mining copper will be inevitable and it will be pernicious to the endangered species. Moreover, even if the land was purchased for mining purposes, it is inappropriate to state that the pollution caused by the mining purpose will harm the already endangered species. The writer did not mention the factor that is a threat to the species. There can be any other factor, rather than pollution, that is responsible for the decline in the species. It is possible that due to unavailability of water or food the species may be facing a danger. The writer defaulted in providing a concrete support to his assumption.

Thirdly, the writer suggests that if the consumers refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper, then the company will abandon its mining plans. This gives rise to certain questions. Wether the products produced by CCC's copper is limited to West Fredonia or it is exported to other cities also ? Hence, if the company exports it products to different cities, then a decline in sales of its products in West Fredonia won't affect the company's revenues to a larger extent. Meanwhile, if CCC is the only copper producing company in West Fredonia, then it is inevident to say that the people will refuse to buy its products as there is no other source of such products in the city. Hence, the writer's argument has certain fallacies that is not cogent and it lacks essential information regarding this issue.

Recapitulating the above mentioned points, it is clear that the writer failed to amass the essential information regarding the factors affecting the existence of species, the purpose of CCC behind purchasing land, the information about any other copper producing company present in West Fredonia and the reliance of people on CCC's products. Hence, it will be a mistake to take a decision without studying about the factors and other subjects as mentioned above.