The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The notion that states the recent report negates the article on corporate downsizing, telling the hardship felt by fired competent workers, overgeneralize the downsizing effect on the wokrers who were affected. The study shows only the general data about overall trend on job creations, total employment rate of the country since 1999, and the data on the new wages trend after the surge of jobs creation. Although the recent study shows the improving condition of Elthyrian economy, the author does not make a cogent comparison between the previous article on corporations downsizing and this recent study. Thus, many evidences should be collected to prove the statement provided by the author.

First of all, the emphasis of the corporate downsizing article must be analyzed first, so the author can take the underlying problems, their causes, and their effects toward the affected employees before making refutation based on the other recent study on general company. It is possible that not all companies have a productive time during the downsizing of those companies and the subsequent economy condition may not directly relate to these companies condition at all. Furthermore, complete data regarding the skills, area of expertise, and the family condition of related employees must be taken before any comparison could be made. These two kind of data might not create any overlapping area of coincidence, and the study might not reflect the actual condition of the employees after the lay-offs. For example, these competent employees might be included into very specialized sectors of jobs that do not match with the growth of other companies based on the recent study, and there are only a few industries that require this kind of jobs. If this condition is proved to be true, then it is logical for them to face difficulty in finding new job if there is not enough job openings compratively with other type of jobs. Moreover, the industries that they are a part of might suffer from economic downturn instead, not like other companies included in the study who have great growth and then they can expand and recruit new people. If the job searching takes too long, then it is very probable that the employees will suffer in the long run due to depletion of their family funding.

Secondly, the author could possibly check the wages of the affected employees and compare it with the recent study. Perhaps, the wages received by the competent employees were previously way below the minimum standard to having an adequate power to live comfortably, or even worse, they could not even fulfill the basic needs in the proper manner. If this condition is true, then it will be difficult for the employee to survive when they seek another job, even if the time of unemployment is short. They may not have sufficient saving, or emergency funding in modern term, to make a living for their families. It is also possible that the size of the families are very large, so it exacerbates the condition. The author must complete this comparison before making any significant comparison.

Still, the condition of the country in 1999 and afterwards is improving, and it is a good thing. Perhaps, it would be a great opportunity for the government to improve the social security regarding the jobs safety of all employees to make sure that all people will benefit from the improvement, and prevent any damage from the efficiency process from the company. Nonetheless, to make such assumption, the author must fill the gaps of evidences.