The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the author of the passage the majority of the money spent on the schools of a particular region of Trillura are funded by the taxes collected by the respective city government.The author mentions that the each city differ from one another when it comes to prioritizing their budget that needs to be provided to public education.Even though the author strengthens his implication by contrasting the budget allotment towards public education by two cities he fails to provide enough evidence.

The author though he mentions that Parson city spent twice as much as Blue city for its public schools to provide good education he fails to provide enough evidence regarding how exactly is the budget alloted to public schools in the city of Parson is being spent. For an example, There is a possibility that more than half of the money is being invested in sports or other extra-curricular activities which are not actually the part of real education. This possibility might actually make the blue city to focus more on education though it allots less budget to its public schools.

Secondly,The author mentions that the cities of Trillura region varies when it comes to spending money on their public schools by contrasting between the two cities of the region (parson and blue city) but the author fails to provide the evidences regarding such fluctuation between the different cities of same region. The author though he mentions that there are same number of residents in both the cities doesn't provide any statistics about the number of students among these residents. The number of students attending public schools in one city might differ from other city which could be the reason of such variations in allotment of budget by different cities.

In conclusion, we need additional evidence to strengthen or weaken the view point of the author. Regarding this passage, The author needs to provide neccessary statistics of the children who are attending public schools of their cities, How exactly the budget being alloted to public schools by the city-government is being put to use. Provided with all this information it will be possible to understand the reason why the allotment of the money varies from one city to the another.