The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the passage directly correlates the number of on-the-job accidents that takes place in a workplace to the amount of sleep the workers get.While making this point the author also provides us with an example comparing two industries and reaching to a conclusion from certain assumptions.However, there exists certain logical gaps in these assumptions when scrutinized properly.

Citing the statistics of two manufacturing units the author implies that Quiot manufacturing unit had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents when compared to Panoply Industies plant.Based on this information the author suggests to cut down the number of working hours.However, he fails to take into consideration whether this percentage increase is significant.For example, If the number of accidents taht took place in Panoply Industries are very few then 30% more than that number is quite negligible and need not be taken into consideration.

The author also assumes that as the number of working hours in Panoply industries are minimum, the number of accidents acounted are also minimum and as a result the working hours of Quiot manufacturing should also be minimized but while making this implication he fails to take into consideration the type of work that is being carried out in both these industries.For an example, The Quiot makes use of machines for manufacturing purposes.In such case, The workers who are amatuers might hurt themselves while making use of these machines.On the other hand, The Panoply unit might rely on Man-power which might not lead to accidents due to machines.The author should take these assumptions into considerations before assuming sleep is the only factor for on-the-job accidents.

On the other hand, The author also assumes that when the number of working hours are shortened the number of accidents at the workplace are reduced.But he avoids taking into consderation regarding several number of factors that could possibly affect the capabilities of workers.For an example,There is a possibility that the workers who succumb to these accidents are not very skilled and requires a proper training.Also, The way the workers work is greatly affected by their personal life, their attitude towards the work and many such factors.Without examining other such factors the author hastily argues that the working shifts should be shortened.

In conclusion, There are several assumptions that could seriously undermine the authors argument that more sleep leads to less number of accidents at workplace.In order to agree with the authors point of view there is a need for him/her to address the assumptions that are mentioned above which remain unaddressed by the author.