In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage concludes that out of two surveys conducted on reading habits of Waymarsh citizens, The first survey seems to be misleading where as the second survey which has been conducted by taking into consideration the genre of books which have been checked out of the public libraries of Waymarsh. At first glance, though the authors conclusion seems logical, however requires certain evidence to agree with him.The following are the evidences, If provided will strengthen the authors conclusion on two surveys.

The first piece of evidence the author needs to provide is how many people of Waymarsh actually visit the libraries? Though the author claims that people who visit public libraries often checks out with mystery novels he fails to provide ebough evidence on how many citizens actually visit these public librfaries.For example, There is a possibility that a very little amout of readers of Waymarsh would like to visit public libraries where as most of the readers would actually like to purchase the books rather than borrowing them from libraries.As a result people who visit public libraries has a proclivity for mystery genre.If this proves to be true, The authors conclusion will be seriously undermined.

Secondly, The author here considers the public libraries for the purpose of opposing the survey and strongly believing that the first survey is misleading but he doesn't provide enough evidence regarding the total number of libraries present in Waymarsh(both public and private).For an example, If there are more number of non-public libraries in the city of Waymarsh and the people who actually like classics visits these libraries due to various reasons such as unavailability of desired classics or other such books at public libraries will make the second survey to be erroneous.If the author provides enough evidence about the number of libraries as well as the number of people who visits these libraries will help to support one survey over another.

Furthurmore the author needs to provide enough evidence on the type of people who visits libraries also took the survey test which was initially conducted.If there is a significant overlap in the people who took both the surveys then the author's suppositions might be true but there is a possibility that people who took the first survey might not visit the libraries of their cities.If this case is true the author's perception can be easily weakened.

In conclusion, The author of the above passage needs to provide enough evidence to either support his statement or weaken his statement.There is a need of evidence about how many people actually visits libraries of their city, How many are the number of libraries in their city which are both public and non-public and finally how many people who participated in the first survey actually visits the libraries in their city? Provided with this additional information and evidences we can furthur analyze the passage.