As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that as we gain more knowledge we find it incomprehensible and difficult to endure rather than making a person and his life easier and worthy. I oppose this statement because gaining immense knowledge helps a person to evolve and explore rather than restricting himself to a confined knowledge he already has.

Firstly, Acquiring knowledge on a particular field and striving harder to get an in depth insight is very beneficial rather than making the topic more mysterious. Working in a particular direction makes you more focused on your aim and helps you to achieve the success. This is true because as you explore any field of your interest with utmost diligence, you tend to gain higher knowledge by which you will learn from your previous experience. The best example in this context is Thomas Alva Edison, The inventor of the bulb. Thomas failed in inventing a bulb for 99 times but succeeded on his 100th attempt. When he was asked about this by a journalist he replied, I didn’t fail for 99 times but learned how not to invent a bulb for 99 times. This shows us that having an in depth knowledge does not make anything obscure but enables a lot to achieve desired results.

Secondly, The way people choose to gain knowledge could differ from person to person which is the reason why some people might find it incomprehensible while others endure it thoroughly though it is an arduous task. Many scientists, researchers, inventors etc follow the latter method of learning and making the most out of the knowledge they gained rather than finding the pools of information to be obscure. For instance, In colleges students are often advised to have a balanced understanding on both theoretical and practical knowledge so that they wouldn’t find the innumerable number of theorems , axioms etc to be mysterious.

Thirdly, Having a detailed knowledge in one particular area is always considered to be better than having a superficial knowledge on hundreds of areas. The best example that fits this context is Aristotle. Aristotle is famous for making statements on almost each and every subject but it has been proven that almost 90% of his teachings are inaccurate and are not true.

However, there are contradictions to my opinion stated above that people with low IQ might often find it cumbersome to cope up with immense knowledge and having a superficial training is beneficial for them to have a good understanding regarding the subject. I oppose this view because no matter what the IQ of a person is if he attains knowledge in a correct way rather than acquiring it in an aforementioned way of rote learning it will free him from his difficulty in understanding a topic.

In conclusion, Acquiring more knowledge does not make the receiver of knowledge to find it incomprehensible rather enables him to reach a state of mastery in that particular skill, but the way you choose to acquire the knowledge is very much essential to make it worthy and understandable.