The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Democracy : To the people,For the people,By the people” is a type of leadership style adopted by most of the nations now a days. I do support the statement that the people living in a society must raise their voice and question the authority whenever it is needed ,but the interference of the people in each and every aspect of authority is not suggested as this might have an adverse effect on their nation.

When people restrain themselves from questioning the authority and adopt taciturnity when it comes to the malfeascent activites done by the leaders of the nation then leadership style of that nation is likely to become autocratic in nature which eventually could be deadly for the people for living there. The best example that fits this context is the autocratic style adopted by Hitler in Germany. Even though some people could already sense that his intentions might not be good for the nation during his early stages of politics yet they didn’t oppose him which eventually led him to be the dictator of the nation.At that point of time the people lost the power of opposing him thereby suffering for the rest of their lives.

It is very important for the people to be united first before questioning the authority of their own nation.Internal dissensions if any should be resolved and later they must strive for their rights deprived by the authority if any. The best example that can be considered in this context is Same-Sex marriages was considered illegal in USA but the way people who oppose this view have come together and strived for making the marriages legal is laudable.Such kind of unity is very important to question the authority.People getting on the same page will help them to figure out between the good and bad laws or activities implemented by the government to start supporting or opposing them.

However there is a chance that if people couldn’t understand the actions implemented by the authority which indeed are for the well-being of the society if opposed by the people might actually put the nation’s development at jeopardy. The people before questioning the actions or the activities implemented by the authority should carefully analyze them and then have an opinion about it.

Therefore, The well-being of a society or a nation rests with the people of that society. Raising their voice whenever the leadership style seems dictatorial or whenever the leader they’ve elected tends to misuse his power will make the leader know that his actions are being carefully watched by the vigilant people which leads the leader to make better decisions