The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

There are alternative explanations for this dramatic price increase of carton of cream than the explanation presented in the argument which can account for the facts presented in the argument.

First explanation is there maybe less number of cows in the dairy farms. If the new dairy farms have single digit number of cows, then even an increase dairy farms will not give enough amount of milk to make a carton of cream. In this case, they will get less amount of milk to make a carton of cream. As there are less number of cows, the farmers are inflating the price of cream despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs to account for the maintenance costs of their dairy farms. Though the recent innovations in milking technology made it possible for farmers to increase milking efficiency, when there are less number of animals which give milk in their dairy farms, then the innovations would be less useful.

Second explanation is the technology innovations which made milking process easier might have involved a lot of costs for the owners of the dairy farms. Innovation related setup in the dairy farms might have involved higher prices. These innovations involve less human intervention, the dairy farms have increased efficiency and less labor costs now than they were 10 years ago. To account for these innovation related maintenance costs, the dairy farms might have increased the price of a carton of cream.

One of the above explanations can account for why a carton of cream costs twice than it did two years ago despite increased efficiency and less labor costs.