The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

In the editor it is stated that farmers are increasing the price of cream to increase their profits as price of dairy product is increasing. To support this idea industry analysts cite the following facts like over the last decade dairy farm has increased. Also milking process became easier so less human intervention is needed. Also labour cost has been reduced now. Despite increase efficiency and low labor cost price of dairy products are twice than two years ago. However, due to lack of logical explanation this standpoint doers not seem valid for some reasons.

First of all, industrial analysists stated cost of the firm may be increased over this long period. Also on order to buy the new technologies firm owners have to invest a huge fixed cost that the dairy farms are increasing over last two decades. However, in this long period the demand of dairy products may have also increased that somehow balanced the supply and demand system. So increasing dairy farms can not be a reason of increased supply of dairy products.

Secondly, industrial analysists mentioned that miking process need less human intervention and for this reason cost has been decreased. But it can be possible that the other cost like food cost of animals, maintenance. So if either of this scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Even if the analysts can substantiate the foregoing assumptions, they overlook the possibility that the transportation system may have become costly than before. For this reason the suppliers may have increased the price of dairy foods. So the farmers can not be suspected for this price increase of the dairy products. If this is true then the argum ent does not hold water.

In conclusion, this argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The analysts need to substantiate this facts with logical explanation. After that this argument can be evaluated properly.