The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument has failed to convince as that Adam’s Realty is more promising than Filch’s Realty, with respect to how quickly they sell homes. The argument, as it stands, is based on questionable assumptions and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact which renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

To begin with, the author, in order to convince us, claims that Adam’s Realty service is much faster than those of Fitch. To elucidate on, the speaker mentions that ten years ago, selling a house took four months for Fitch, but last year the same job took only one month for Adams. To further scrutinize, the arguer does not take into account that so many things could change after ten years. What if ten years ago the Realty Market for selling a house was not good? So many other factors could be involved. What if Fitch, 10 years ago, used to have a less skilled team than today? but today he can make a sell in no time. What if Adam just got lucky once? The author fails to consider the fact that things change over time. The argument would have been strengthened if the speaker had provided enough evidence for his assertion. To sum up, the author fails to provide justification for his assertion.

Next, the arguer uses numbers to persuade us that Adam’s revenue was much higher than those of Fitch’s. Although plausible, but there is no direct link between the price of home sales and the retailer’s revenue. To elaborate, the author flimsily assumes that the higher the average price of homes sold, the higher is the total revenue. What if Adam, by himself sold only 10 houses with the average price of the $168,000 and Fitch’s average was $144,000 for 100 houses in a year? The author should have, elaborated more detail and a concrete link between the numbers provided and his assertion. If so, the argument would have been convincing.

Finally, the author states that Fitch’s team consist of 25 people who are working part-time, but Adam’s team consist of 40 people. Not mentioning the fact that the author does not provide any further detail about Adam’s Realty team, he uses the part-time issue as a red herring to convince the reader that Adam is more promising that Fitch. In addition, it could be said that the quantity does not weigh over quality. Consequently, it does not mean that just because Fitch’s team are lower in number they are not as productive as Adam’s. What if Fitch’s team have a team-work spirit that Adam’s crave for? Therefore, they can get the job done really quicker and with a higher quality. The author should have mentioned other factors related, for the argument to be strengthened.

To conclude, based on substantial assumptions and poor evidence, the arguer’s reasoning does not provide concrete support for his/her conclusion. If the argument had included the items discussed, it would have been more thorough and convincing.