To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In asserting that to understand the importance characteristics of a society, one has to study its major cities, speaker failed to acknowledge other diverse issues related to the topic- characteristics which are related to history and tradition- Beside the characteristics of a community which follow the idea of the speaker, culture and people. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement to the extent that “only” people and culture of the society are considered, in other cases as will be elucidated in the points below, it will not be so.

Due to the ambiguous nature of the Topic “To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities”, I will assume the clause is related to history, tradition, culture and the people of the society, which are the four most important foundation of a society. Admittedly, when talking about people and culture of a society, major cities play a significant importance in displaying its characteristics. Take for instance, Tehran, the capital of Iran, has the most population amongst other cities in the country. As a result, more budget is provided by the government to sustain and express the community’s culture and people. “Talar Vahadat” or Vahdat Hall is the most cultural complex one could find, In Tehran. Dating back to 50 years ago, the hall represents not only a rich culture of Persian community but also our people’s attitude and way of thinking.

With these example, it could be argued that studying major cities to find out about a community’s characteristic is valid, but when viewed holistically, it is not because the history and the traditions of a community are well preserved nowhere but the small towns. I can remember an experience of mine, when I went to Shaft, Guilan, for taking some picture of the landmarks and the nature there. Heights of Shaft, broaden my horizons not only by its beauty and tranquility but also by the way people greeted me with hospitality. As soon as they saw me, a stranger, they welcomed and invited me to their house. I had the chance to get to know their way of living, tradition and the history of the region. It is by all means of paramount importance to mention that these characteristics of a society, are only hidden in the deep parts of a small town, like Shaft. Unfathomable history is only achievable throughout areas alike, where the places are untamed still. Notwithstanding, people might want to undermine this assertion by saying that such thinking applies to only certain countries and societies which are not mechanized and technology-inflicted. However, just like I said earlier, I will maintain my stand that only cultural and characteristics related to people can be studied in major cities.

In conclusion, contrary to the claim above, I agree with the statement mentioned to the extent that the characteristics are limited to people and culture, other characteristics of a society like history and tradition are ought to be sought in small cities and towns.