Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In asserting that Scandals are useful due to the fact that they focus our attention in ways that reformers or speakers could not the author failed to acknowledge other diverse issues-big scandals which are all but useless – besides small scandals which could help focus the attention and therefore finding a use out of it. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement to the extent that the usefulness of scandals in directing our attention on problems “ONLY” regards subtle scandals which have little effect on the society and the country.

Due to the ambiguous nature of the statement, usefulness of scandals in directing our attention on problems, I assume the clause to mean finding a diagnosis and a cure for the problem. Admittedly, when we are dealing with small and subtle scandals, getting to know them helps us to find the corrupted root which no speaker or reformer, as the statement itself suggest, could focus our attention on. Take for instance the currency market of Iran eight years ago. The fluctuations regarding the value of the dollar had begun to show itself after the sanctions. Because of the coincidence, so many believed that it was only due to the sanctions. However, not only it was due to the black market that controlled the entire currency market, but also the sanctions themselves had little effects also negligible. Not to mention the mere fact that after it was discovered that the rapid changes in currency value were due to these scandals, the National Bank of Iran prohibited any transactions out of the legal market and postulated penalty for those who commit the crime. It is obvious finding out about small scandals like these, which have little to no effect on the total welfare of both the community and the society, is useful.

With these examples, it could be argued that scandals are all useful for focusing our attention on problems, but when viewed holistically it is not so because more serious scandals can break the infrastructures of a society, which could lead to chaos and mayhem. A vivid example can shed light on what has elaborated above. Five years ago, when Ahmadinejad, the former president of the Islamic Republic of Iran, declared that more than 300 billion dollars were stolen by government representatives, the government quivered for having no power over their deputies. To elaborate on, after that specific incident, although the government is taking more prudent actions, but the aftermath of the incident was so negative that even focusing our attention on the problem was of no use. Notwithstanding, people might want to undermine this assertion by saying that such thinking only applies to communities where the rate of such serious scandals is high. However, just like I earlier said, I will maintain my stand that serious scandals are not only useless but also harms the foundation of the society.

In conclusion, in contrary to the claim above. I agree with the statement only to the extent that the scandals are small ones. Otherwise, there is no use out of big scandals.