The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that Adams Realty is superior that Fith Realty and thus if people want to sell their homes, they should use Adams Realty. Stated in this way, the argument fails to acknowledge diverse pivotal aspects, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. It reveals several instances of poor reasoning and bad extrapolation. It tries to persuade the reader by distorting the view of the situation by manipulating facts and providing weak pieces of evidence. In support fo the stated conclusion, the letter notes that time required to sell a home using Adams is much less than with Fitch and hence, one should use Adams. The author generalizes this assumption in a broader view with inattention towards other varying factors. Nevertheless, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered as uncorroborated and incomplete.

First of all, the letter effortlessly states that Adams Realty is superior to the Fitch Realty on the basis of facts surveyed a year ago. This is merely a belief without much solid ground. For example, Fitch's employees are more capable as a real estate agents and thus only 25 of them would be equivalent to the 40 of Adams and that count was too a year back. The letter also compares the revenue generated previous year but does not mention its current status. In real state agency companies, a year would make a huge difference between its popularity and revenue generation. It is possible that Fitch's has allotted discounts on home sales previous year to become more popular than its competitor Adams and in the current year, people are more preferring Fitch that Adams. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the comparison of different aspects in the present year.

The argument readily claims that due to the superiority of Adams that Fitch in revenue, people would be more profitable by selling their homes to Adams than to Fitch. The author shares his experience of selling homes with Fitch ten years back and with Adams one month ago. This again is a weak extrapolation as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between their present capabilities of selling homes and benefits to use their services. To illustrate, it is possible that if the author had used Fitch a month ago to sell his home, it had taken only 15 days and with more profit earned as compared to the Adams. If the author provided evidence of their present quality of service to sell homes, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author claims that Adams is much better than the Fitch for selling homes quickly. However, careful examination of the assumption reveals that it provides a little credible support to the conclusion and raises several skeptical questions. For example, the city where the author's home was present has more immigrants than other cities which will result in a quicker selling of homes. The author has only mentioned the time it took for the Adams to sell his home and never stated the profit he earned by using the service of Adams. For those who want more profit and can compromise the time to sell their home, Adams may not be beneficial to them. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with an impression that the claims made in the letter are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better analysis results using the statistics of the present year. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about requirements of the people who want to sell their homes.