The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that the customers would not complain when they are served margarine instead of butter in southeast and northeast parts of United States. Stated in this way, the argument fails to acknowledge diverse pivotal aspects, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. It reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined extrapolation. It tries to persuade the reader by distracting the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak pieces of evidence. The author claims that as the number of customers who complained about the change is negligible, the recommendation will be a success. The author generalized this conclusion to a broader view of inattention towards other varying factors. Nevertheless, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides a little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered uncorroborated and incomplete.

First of all, the author claims that 98 percent of the customers in the southwestern United States are happy with the change. This is merely a belief without much solid ground. For example, it is possible that during the test period, only a few customers ordered butter. It is also possible that the 98 percent of the people have not paid attention to the change made but certainly, they will when it will be a regular process. It is also possible that the customers who have ordered butter have not tasted it patiently or tasted a little to be able to notice the change. The author has not mentioned precise count of the customers. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated precise count of the customers who ordered butter but served margarine.

The author also claims that the change would be a success in southeast and northeast parts of the United States. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correlation between the type of customers in the two parts. To illustrate it further, it is possible that the customers in southeast and northeast parts are more sensitive towards the taste of butter and will definitely complain about the change at the first time. It will hamper the reputation of the Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the country as people will eventually know the profit-making methodology the restaurants have adopted. It is also possible that margarine is costlier than the butter in other parts of the States and this will reduce the profits made by the restaurants. If the argument had provided evidence about the costs of margarine and butter and also the type of people in other parts of the States, then it would have been much more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author assumes that the people are not distinguishing the change or they use margarine as a substitute to the butter. However, careful examination of the assumption reveals that it provides a little plausible support and raises several skeptical questions. For example, the author must ask personally the customers if they have noticed the change as people might have forgotten to register the complaint because they have assumed that it has happened by chance and the restaurant has not done it intentionally. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with an impression that the recommendation is much of a wishful thinking rather than substantive pieces of evidence.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide concrete pieces of evidence, perhaps by a reliable survey and detail study of other factors as well. Finally, to better assess the recommendation, it would be necessary to know more information about what type of people are customers in the restaurants present in different localities of the United States.