Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The topic can be interpreted from different angles for examining qualities of an effective leader. Indubitably, an effective leader must stick to the principles and objective which solely points towards the wellness of citizens in every aspect. Nevertheless, he must respond to the public opinion because people know in a better way of things they need. A leader must revert to this requirement by proposing a plan in front of the people based on that opinion. Hence, I believe that an effective leader must be capable of yielding to public opinion but abandon only those principles which do not align to citizen's wellness.

First of all, people are smart enough to decide their goodwill and take decisions. They know more about their needs and necessities, their problems than anyone else. To illustrate, people living in slum areas know their problems much better than a municipal corporation member assigned to the welfare of the people living in slum areas. In this circumstance, the leader must ask for the public opinion and consider that sincerely. He should be liberal and effective to apply his knowledge to give direction to the people to achieve the requirements. Furthermore, if he does not considers people's opinion and point of view, it might happen that he would initiate public welfare programmes that are completely misaligned to the actual requirements of the people in that area. He must overrule any barriers and principles which stands in front of him to perform welfare to the people but not to harm anyone. Apparently, an effective leader must respond to the public needs by considering their opinions and overruling any barriers and rules which stands in front of the welfare of the citizens.

Admittedly, an effective leader must know how to take right decisions for his followers and commit to those principles and values in any situation. This is especially true when the leader knows from statistics and study that there will be an inflation which will cause problems for the citizens before achieving the goal. In addition to that, a leader is aware of all harmful consequences that will come after taking the decision which seems right to him. However, this should not lead to a dictatorship. The leader must convey the difficulties which will eventually lead to overall welfare to his followers properly. And they must be capable to adhere and persevere those principles and objectives till the target is not achieved at times of crises. Hence, one should not hold on to the capability of a leader to stick to his principles for measuring his effectiveness in leading his followers.

In conclusion, as long as leaders know inside out of his principles and objectives he should stick to them till success. In other cases, he must seek public opinion for the betterment of public and must not rule his principles and objectives as a dictator if they are making harm to his public in any aspect.