The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented here by the writer that the Adams Reality Estate firm is better than Fitch’s, is contingent upon several dubious arguments and questionable analogy making the conclusion tenuous. The writer fails to provide persuasive evidences and thus renders the argument unconvincing.

First and foremost, the writer assumes since the Adam’s Firm has more number of agents, it is superior. Such inferences are ridiculous as there is no evidence regarding the efficacy of these workers. For any firm to be superior to other the quality of the work should be given weightage rather than just the number of employees. it may be possible that less number of efficient workers outperform large number of workers.

Secondly, the writer tries to infer from the fact that the Adam’s revenue being greater than that of the Fitch’s, without giving deliberate attention to the fact that the Adam have more number of agent thus it is possible than even with inferior performance their cumulative revenues soars up. Also, nothing is being said about what kind of revenue is being considered, is it the gross revenue or the profits of the firm, it is necessary to consider the cost and wages while comparing revenue. Thus it is required to compare the net profit of firm per number of agents which is more deciding factor. Another flaw in the argument is that only average revenue of one year which is not enough to compare the performance of the firms in a long-time frame. Thus a longer time frame would make it conducive to decide on this.

Thirdly, the writer tries to correlate the firm’s performance 10 years before with now. Obviously, the conditions ten years ago and now are not same, thus comparing this would lead to fallacious inferences. Moreover, the house being sold ten before and now are different, hence it would be ridiculous to compare the performance of the firms without comparing the houses in the question. It is possible that the house tried to be sold ten years ago faced problem due to inherent defects.

We can thus conclude that the writer does not present a cogent argument and tit rife with baseless assumption which make it difficult to admit. The writer can add the necessary evidences to make the argument more persuasive.