The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its

manager.

"Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were

modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of

water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a

considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month.

Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported

since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve

buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure

to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The memo put emphasizes on the benefits of supplanting the new water system which can extenuate the amount of water consumption to its lowest points in compared with the conventional method. To endorse this hypothesis, three postulations have been proposed: 1) this can save approximately one-third of water which the residents take up, 2) there exist just minor malcontent about using this approach and the last but not the least the utilization of this can engender a myriad of profit for the company. After weighing each of the repercussions, it is conspicuous that none of them seem logical.

A threshold problem with the argument involves no precise records of how amount of water can be retained after the time that this new method had been implemented. Based on just some experiments without any verified results, rarely can it be anticipated that this way of water system in apartments can leave a plethora of positive consequents. Thus, to make a more coherent conclusion, the subsistence of exact records and documents of both before and after inserting this water system is necessary.

Nor does the mere fact that since this new approach can be pragmatically for three buildings, it can be also helpful for all twelve constructions. In fact, the more the wide range of cases is regarded in one experiment, the more reliable and accurate results can be obtained. Hence, according to this tenet, it is better to further expand the number of constructions under the same conditions to reach more logical consequences about the degree of usefulness of this water system.

Even assuming that owing to the minority of a number of dissatisfaction about this new water system, exploiting for all other buildings can demonstrate the similar results cannot be tenable. Since, firstly the population of denizens living in these buildings is ambiguous, secondly, the elevation of the apartment does not specified as one of determining factors in damping the pressure, as a result, this theory about how this new water system can amplify the emolument of the corporations cannot be defensible totally. To elucidate on, determination the population and height of the buildings should be calculated to vindicate the usefulness of this novel strategy.

Admittedly, the author provides not evidence to substantiate that how persons in that building have tendency to purchase this water system if their desires are not met. For instance, the pressure reduction is one of adverse issues alleviating the penchant of applicants to implement this method in their homes. Or the amount of revenue that the corporations can receive should be scrutinized for longer periods of time and then compared it with the traditional method, then make a vigorous ramifications.

In sum, the argument encompasses some blemishes and therefore implausible as it stands. To bolster the thesis, the manager of as a designer for this project should speculate the degree of malcontents of inhabitants as the population grows, as well as, recognizing and demystifying the exact differences between the previous and current changes in conserving water. Ultimately, the pressure loss as the height of building augments can be another predominant factors in averring the accuracy and privileges of this new method.