The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex predicts that restricting water use in all its 12 buildings will have positive effects on their profits. To solidify their opinion, the owners indicated that limiting maximum water flow should result in less water consumption. In addition, few complaints have been reported about the adjustment in the 3 building that already implemented the restriction. However, more questions have to be answered before the manager can be convinced about the idea. the argument seems plausible.

To start with, although actual readings after the restriction are yet to be available, the author hastily predicts a fall in water usage. Although less water will be used per unit of time, the restriction is not likely to reduce total water consumption. Actually, the amount of water used by washing machines or dish washers is similar each time. If maximum water flow is restricted, these machines just waits longer till a similar amount of water are collected. Besides, people would probably take a longer shower under a smaller flow of water. To convince us that the total water used are to decrease, the author should provide evidence that these factors does not vary significantly when water use is restricted.

Besides, the author suggested that few complaints about the restrict water use has been reported. It is conceivable, however, that many other residents who are also discontent with the restriction did not bother to make the complaint: They don’t have to complain about the same issue as their neighbors did. Besides, if the restriction has not been publicly announced, some residents may regard it as a temporary malfunction, which might be dealt with in a few days. Once they realized that reduced water flow is done on purpose by the managers, it is possible that numerous complaints flow in. Before carrying out such a restriction on water use, the author should consider these possibilities, and answer what the true opinions of the residents are.

In addition, the author points out that if the restriction on the first three buildings have been working well, similar actions will also be effective on other buildings. However, we may ask whether the two buildings are comparable in every aspect to be indeed comparable. For example, if the first three buildings are economical apartments for young graduates, whereas the other buildings are more luxurious apartments aim at the affluent, who pay much attention to details, it’s likely that more complaints will be reported. Besides, if many apartments on other buildings are rented by the residents, it’s more likely for them to simply move away. The managers should consider the possibilities of his/her actions.

In conclusion, there are many questions remaining to be solved, before the manager can be convinced that restricting water use is indeed helpful. More details about the residents’ opinions should be collected, and more information about the differences between the buildings should be provided.