The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director proposed that all stations in their hospital system should adopt the UltraClean hand soap. To solidify his/her opinion, the director suggested that the hand soap is proven to be more effective than its competitors in a laboratory study. In addition, the hospital which used this hand soap reported significantly fewer infections than other hospitals. However, the director’s proposal is based on several unsubstantiated assumptions, which render it unpersuasive as it stands.

To start with, the director mentioned the laboratory study to underpin his argument. The scope and validity of the study, however, is unclear. If the study is funded by the very company that produces the UltraClean hand soap, the chances are that the study is biased. Even if the study is conducted by uninterested institutions or laboratories, we may wonder whether the kind of bacterias they used in the study is typically vulnerable to the UltraClean hand soap. In reality, however, the kinds of bacterias and viruses vary significantly, so it is partial to judge the effect of hand soaps based on a single study. To better illustrate his opinion, the director should provide the result of many other studies where other factors vary.

Besides, it is mentioned that a significant drop in reported infections is observed at a hospital that used the UltraClear hand soap in Workby. However, it is not a clear indication that the UltraClean hand soap is more effective, unless we assume that all other factors regarding the hospitals are identical. In reality, these hospitals vary in every aspect, such as patient population and location. For example, if the weather Workby has been congenial in the past month, whereas the other hospitals experienced snows or storms, then the climate differences might be the cause of the variation in infections. In addition, a specific disease may be common in one place, while rare in another. Without taking these factors into consideration, the hospitals can not hastily adopt the proposal.

Finally, the director concluded that all hospitals should be supplied with UltraClean hand soap, since significant improvements in infection rates have been observed in one of them. However, we may ask whether these hospitals are similar enough in every aspect to be indeed comparable. For example, if the hand soap is especially effective in a kind of bacteria which does not exist in an area, supplying UltraClean may be futile in reducing infection. Also, the costs of supplying the new hand soap should be considered. Although supplying UltraClean might be effective to a certain degree, carrying out the proposal may actually bring about more financial burden to the hospital. The director should take these assumptions into consideration and revise the proposal.

In conclusion, the proposal is based on several implicit assumptions which are not logical. Before further actions are carried out, the actual effect of the hand soap should be carefully evaluated. Also, the disparities between the hospitals should be taken into account.