The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner argues that by reducing the water flow in all twelve buildings, the company would be able to improve the profitability. It is based on the premises that reduction in water flow to one-third in three buildings had not caused large number of complaints from the residents, therefore, it would help the company to save costs on water charges. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of questions and logical flaws.

First such question is that whether water expense hold significant contribution to the overall profits of the company. The owner has not answered if the charges for the water are variable or fixed since it would or would not impact the profits. Further, it may be the case that residents of these buildings took the ownership of homes on the condition that all utilities charges such as water and electricity would be fixed irrespective of the usage which the owner of the building had negotiated the same with the authorities. For example, the Reality Association of India has offered homes from the period 2004 to 2009 with attractive schemes which also included fixed charges for water usage because the authorities offered incentives to these realtors in order to boost demand for the houses. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the owner should answer that water charges are variable and they contribute significantly to the overall profits of the company.

Secondly, the question is related to sampling assumption that one month is sufficient to estimate the same response for every other home owners in these buildings. In most cases whether be it finance or economics or accounting, the time period of one month is considered as insufficient data to extrapolate the future earnings of the company. For example, the study conducted by financial associates of Bank of America in 2016 concluded that financial results for past one month that have been declared by companies, though cheered the equities, but highly unreliable since any estimates of financial nature would need data for at least one year that cover all cycles of the economy; this one month has showed only cycle of growth which was incomplete understanding of the economy. Therefore, in order to strengthen the argument, the owner must answer that the past one month has covered majority of the residents and it covered all possible ups and downs that may occur in a year.

Finally, the question is related to non-availability of water readings. The owner has assumed that just by reducing the water flow, it would save him costs on water usage despite not tallying the water readings. Since, it may be the case that residents of these buildings have actually increased their usage in order to make up to the reduced pressure of water. Or their usage may still be the same and they keep the tap running for more time to balance the reduction in water pressure and their usage. For example, the research conducted by DLF, a realtor in India, in 2010 concluded that reducing anything, be it water or electricity, has not saved amounts for water or electricity charges but has resulted in large number of court filings which forced the company to incur huge expenditure on these legal proceedings. Therefore, the owner should demonstrate that water readings showed reduced usage.

While concluding, after close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance of certain unanswered questions. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument can be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed measure.