The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The claim of the owner of the sunnyside towers appartment complex is that, decreasing the pressure of the showerhead of his twelve buildings will get him more profit than before. There are many fallacies in the passage that is not represented clearly to evaluate his statement. Without those evidence, we are kept in an amvibalent state to be duboius about his goal to profit. Among those fallacies, three reasons can be described here.

Firstly, it is said that, actual reading of water usage before the adjustment of showerhead is not recorded. Again, reading of water usage after the adjustment of showerhead is also not recorded. That means, it was assumed by the owner that, people living in those buildings use water relentlessly only by shower. Maybe vast amount of water is used to wash the building enviroment and keep proper maintenance which is not done now.He also assumed that, by adjusting the showerhead, he is getting more savings from that building.There is not any data provided to the owner by observing which, he can surely esmitate the usage of water. Without the record, effect of any operation will come to no use.

Secondly, getting more savings from the previous month, the owner is giving credit to the idea of adjusting showerhead. Maybe in that month, there was less number of people living in their own apartment. Mabe, they have gone to any vacation, for which amount of water usage was less than the previous month. The owner is assuming by the savings getting only from first month. The savings he got maybe because of other causes also. Because it is not said that the savings is only from the water usage. Distribution of cost and profit of other utilities of the building are not mentioned here, by comparing which the this assumption can be taken.Before taking any decision about change of anything, survey must be done for a long time. Taking decision by evaluating only one sample of data is unwise. Being an owner of a tower complex, he should have been known it.

In the final statement, the owner is aiming to adjust the showerhead of his other buldings also by seeing the savings from one paricular building. But, there is no aformantioned data of those people living in the building that, whether they use most of their usage water from showerhead or not. It may the case that, they do not use shower at all or use most of the usage water by any other tap than shower. Again whether the usage of water in those buildings are making less profits or not is not mentioned here. Usage of water can be varied building to building. By evaluating only one sample data, it is very unwise to claim that, by applying the same formula on ther building will bring the same profit or same savings.

In conclusion, the arguement as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer all three questions above and offer more evidence , then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the proposed claim that can be applied without any further investigation.