The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument the vice president of the food distribution company is wishing to return back to the buzzoff pest control service who worth them less damage than the curent pest control company. Behind taking this decision he assumed too many steps that are wanting in evidence without which kept us in an ambivalent state to agree with him in all respect. Some of the fallacies are presented here.

Firstly, the new company named the fly away pest control company they contacted with is seen not to give good service. A reason is provided here that, last moth they faced $20,000 worth of food damaged. But there is no data or evidence is shown here behind it. Again, The warehouse that is in wintervale, shows less damage than other in the palm city for only just one moth. And by seeing this one month expenditure the vice president of the company is coming into direct conclusion. It is unwise to make such a big decision for only surveying one month data. The sample size of any survey must be large before taking any kind of decision or before changing it.

Secondly, the two warehouse in which one of them are in palm city and another one is situated in Wintervale. Are these two warehouse really comparable with each other or not is not presented here clearly. Maybe they preserve different kind of foods. Maybe in palm city warehouse the food that were preserved were outdated or such a product that can be rotten at any moment. What quantity of food is preserved in the wintervale one is also not mentioned here. Maybe the food reserved there were too less than the other. Before claiming this state that the other ware house in winterscale let them damage than the other is quite irrelevant if there is no parameter between them by which we can compare them.

Furthermore, by seeing this two companys' service at pest control, the vice president of the food company is wishing to getting back to the company that they contracted with their wintervale company. But as a president of a company, his main target is surely to earn maximum profit as possible from this warehouses. Then why not the president is seeking for a third company? Because the wintervale one also cannot provide him zero damage. Again, another thing can be questioned here that, the refrigeration capacity of those warehouses are fulfilled or not. Preserving food in any warehouses, maintenance of weather and moisture control is a must. If there is no sufficient equipment that must be present in any food reserving warehouse, then damage is must. No pest control service can minimize this damage whatever procedure they applied here.

In conclusion, the argument as it is stated now, is flawed with different assumptions. If the author of the passage can show the evidence and answer those reasons completely, then it will be possible to be agree with his statement to return back to the Buzzoff pest control service.