The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this arguement, a paradox has been presented about the increment rate of accident though more bycyclists are wearing helmet. The government is trying to resolve this paradox by imposing bycycle safety education over ecouraging to wear helmet. Many kinds of evidence full of fallacies are presented here to support his arguement. These fallacies however kept us in an ambivalent state from where we cannot aggree with the the claim of the government. To present these loopholes in this claim three reasons are described here.

First of all, it is said here that ten years ago 35 percent of bycyclists were reported to wear helmet. After ten year, though the percentage of bycyclists have risen, the percentage of accident has risen also. With subconcious mind , it comes first that the rate of accident should have been decreased. The lacking that the govenrment cannot catch the number of bycyclists increase in those years. Here, no data has been shown, how many number of cyclists were then and now. Meybe the number of bycyclits then were few. By only percentage measuremnt we cannot come into direct conclusion that awareness of wearing helmet have not come to use decreasing accidents.

Secondly, by measuring the rate of accidents we cannot indifferently say that rule of imposing wearing helmet didnot come to any use. The rate of accident is not described briefly here. These accidents may vary state to state. The state where traffic rules and regulations are not maintained properly, accidents rate can be more there. Again it is said here that by wearing helmets bycyclists feel confident to take risk. And by doing so they fell into accident. But there is no evidence showed here to support this claim. TO support this claim data or any survey must be presented. If the statement is true, then also you cannot make any coclusion to say this.

Thirdly, to resolve this paradox the govenrment is trying to concentrate on education bycycle safety rather than encouraging to wear helmet. There is no solid reason behind taking this step. Again, only this solution is not enough to resolve this problem. There are many steps that can be taken to decrease the percentage rate of accident. Strict traffic rule can be imposed. Cycle lane can be introduced to the city people. BY using only that lane they can stay far from large vehicles. Only educationg the bycycle safety will not bring any fruitful solution.

In conclusion, the arguement as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain assumptions. If the author is able to show the evidence behind those reasons stated above, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the governments process behind decreasing the rate of accident.