The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the information provided, the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals are recommending expanding its business by marketing other low-priced food products. They have come to this conclusion based on the success of their low-priced cereal products in comparison to their competitors, as well as not having to raise their prices to continue making a profit. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, what are the production costs of Bargain Brand’s other products in comparison to their cereal line? Bargain Brand has assumed that similar to their cereal products, they can also offer other products at exceptionally low prices. However, perhaps the reason they can offer cereal cheaper than others is because its their cheapest product to produce. If no other products are cheap to produce, then it would be impossible for them to replicate such a strategy. Furthermore, assuming the moved forward anyway, could they expect this trend to continue into the reasonable future? For example, perhaps the materials needed for their new products suddenly become short-supplied or new equipment / technology develops that is necessary; which would surely raise production costs and the likelihood of price increases.

Secondly, would there ever be any demand for these new products should they move forward? One could argue that people only buy cereal from Bargain Brand because of their cheap prices, but prefer to get other products (like fresh produce or meat) from other companies even if it costs more. If fact, one could also argue that in order for Bargain Brand to become competitive in other spaces, they would have to spend money on advertising and sales; which would likely cut into their profit margins and lead to price increases.

Finally, was Bargain Brand cereal originally successful because people actually liked the cereal and its low cost? Or was it because there were no other better options at the time of its launch? For example, suppose that oatmeal is the preferred option among consumers, but that one year ago there was a huge shortage of production materials; thus causing a massive price increase and shift to cereal.

Overall, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance and several unwarranted assumptions. This includes the assumption that their production costs for other products will be similarly low and long lasting, that there will be demand for their new products, and that the initial success of their cereal was based on taste and price and not because there were no other options at the time. That said, if the author can answer these three questions and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it would be possible to fully examine the viability of offering new low cost products.