The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the information provided, the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals are recommending expanding its business by marketing other low-priced food products. They have come to this conclusion based on the success of their low-priced cereal products in comparison to their competitors, as well as not having to raise their prices to continue making a profit. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, what are the production costs of Bargain Brand’s other products in comparison to their cereal line? Bargain Brand has assumed that similar to their cereal products, they can also offer other products at exceptionally low prices. However, perhaps the reason they can offer cereal cheaper than others is because its their cheapest product to produce. If no other products are cheap to produce, then it would be impossible for them to replicate such a strategy. Furthermore, assuming the moved forward anyway, could they expect this trend to continue into the reasonable future? For example, perhaps the materials needed for their new products suddenly become short-supplied or new equipment / technology develops that is necessary; which would surely raise production costs and the likelihood of price increases.