The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Based on the evidence of climate forecasting and population growth, the article draws the conclusion that the demand for heating oil in the region would increase in the five years. Though it might appear reasonable and convincing at first glance, we need more evidence in order to fully evaluate the trend of the heating oil demand in the region.

First, the author suggests that climate in the region would be cold in the following five years because of the weather forecas as a crucial evidence to support the conclusion. Nevertheless, we need more evidence about the accuracy of the forecasting. For instance, it is important to have an idea of the performances of the forecasting years before to ensure that the climate trend predicted is highly possible. What is more, granted that the weather forecasting is accurate, more interview with local people is still necessary since low temperature alone cannot guarantee that they feel cold and are in need for heating. It is possible that local people feel much warmer than what the temperature suggests because of the low level of wind and sufficient sunshine in the region. Only when all the evidence is acquired can we make sensible judgement on the conclusion that the author suggests.

Second, even if the climate is cold and local residence needs heating, the author's conclusion that the demand for oil heating will certainly increase is still open to critique. People may choose other type of fuels for heating such as electricity via air-conditioner or solar energy. The only evidence the author offer as the evidence is that people in Northeastern US traditionally used heating oil as major fuel for heating. It is, however, not convincing because the specific region the memo talks about cannot represent the Northwestern region as a whole. Some characters of the region may makes people there prefer other types of fuel. Additionally, the tradition of heating oil usage cannot promise the prevailance of it in the future because people may prefer sustainable energy now, thus choose solar energy. In both scenario, more investigation is required to rule out other alternative explanations and fully evaluate the author's conclusion.

To sum up, the arguer’s argument mentioned above is not based on valid evidence or sound reasoning, neither of which is dispensable for a conclusive argument. In order to draw a better conclusion, the arguer should reason more convincingly, cite some evidence that is more persuasive, and take every possible consideration into account.