The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In the memo, the budget planner adamantly believe that the Grandview Symphony gained popularity to the state that does not require any subsidies from the city. He bases this argument on the high-acclaimed incumbent conductor, recent record of private contributios and the symphony’s outdoor summer concert sales. Although this argument may seem convincing at first glance, the argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions which lead me to cast doubt on the validity of the argument.

To begin with, the budget planner implicitly assumes that the income of the symphony is enough to sustain th...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.