The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that UltraClean helps prevent serious infection to the patients and hence the diretor has decided to supply it to all the hand-washing stations in their hospital system. As in lab testing UltraClean was able to produced 40 percent better reduction in bacterial cells than the currently liquid hand soap in use. As we don't have enough information to tell for sure whether the director's conclusion is efficacious, without addresing these assumptions.

Most strikingly, the argument assumess that a greater percentage automatically indicates a greater numerical success result . This is mathematically untenable. The director merely assumes that a greater percentage reduction in the bacteria population means low infection chance. Futhermore, the argument apparantely assuems that the laboratory study results of this UltraClean liquid antibacterial hand soap is sufficient enough to believe that it's application in the day to day life will prove to be promising. As miscalculation here would completely undermine the argument's conclusion.

Secondly, just by following a successful result of the UltraClean test at single hospital in Workby, the director assumes that it will be beneficial to replace all the liquid hand-wash stations with UltraClean in all of their hospital groups. Perhaps, the UltraClean hand was able to work only on the particular set of bacterial cells that prevailed in that particular hospital in Workby. There isn't enough information available to assert for sure that it will be able to prove beneficial to fight against all the other kinds of bacterial infections. So on the basis of single result it might prove to be fatal to hastly change over to UltraClean. There might be a possiblity that the currently antibacterical liquid hand soap being in all other hospital actually efficently fights against the prevailing bacterial cells in those hospitals. Possible uninetended consequences need to be addressed before implementing such plans.

This brings us tho the final assumption: the director appears to believe that there will be no side effects to any person or alergic reactions of any sort upon using on the patients of the other hospital just because there was not single case detected during the testing period at Workby, there's no data or proof of this presented in the arrgument that helps us eliminate this assumption. If any one of the above assumption contained in the argument proved falsem the conclusion would be factually wrong and will seriouly undermines the director's conclusion.