The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above memo, the author states four reasons for the building of new dormitories for the student housing of Buckingham’s college. Increase in the enrollment rates, doubling of the enrollment by the next 50 years, increase in the rent of the town and as an attractive feature for the future students. The given reasons are not supported with data and are unreasonable. This brings about questioning the validity of the argument.

The first reason, the author states is the increase in enrollment. There are no data on how many of the enrolled students would prefer to stay in the dorms. They would number of native students or students who prefer living off campus. A data regarding the number of college enrollees currently in dorms might have bolstered the argument. Hence this reason seems unlogical.

Secondly, he provides current trend on the student enrollment that will double in next 50 years. That is a very long period to make building plans. The trend could change for reasons as less ranking of the college, more dropouts and change in the economy. Even if the student number double, there is no data for the application for dorms. Usually plans formulated are either based on either short term on 1 yr or long term on 5yrs are taken. The correctness and precision of the data weakness the argument.

Thirdly, the director points towards the town rent increasing and unaffordability of the students. The author does not take into consideration that some students prefer off campus housing. Less discipline, no time restriction and more privacy would be more attractive for the students. These students might be sharing their rent and other costs of living which might make it affordable. Without taking the number of students who would be living off campus, it would not be a good point to base the building of new dorms.

Finally, the of idea of attractive dorms for the prospective students is unsound and unreasonable. Dorm attractiveness is the least of preference a student gives while applying to a college. A student college application criteria list would include a myriad of other things. Some of them are college ranking, course availability, tuition, renowned faculty and college facilities. Dorms are least of any of the students application lists.

In conclusion, even though the author’s argues for more housing facility for the students as he thinks the enrollment would be increasing in the future. His reasons do not bolster his argument. The lack of proper data and research undermines the argument. The college must investigate further into the issue before making any decisions.