The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

We are in a generation where we have a lot of luxuries and conveniences when compared to any of our previous generations. Internet for free information, cell phones to connect easily, and even the modern day transportations. Modern technology plays a very important role for each of our daily needs of life. I disagree with the statement as altogether the luxuries and conveniences have made us more independent.

We have grown by hearing from our parents, about the difficulties they and their parents had to face in getting education. Now, with the availability of the Internet, we can learn anything. Online education is a great example. Proper utilization of these facilities has indeed changed the face of society. People with education are boons to the society. This has indeed made us self reliant and independent.

Our conveniences have in fact made us think more efficiently. Earlier when people have high blood pressure, they were called hypertension. Now we have technologies and science to know more about the pathophysiology and the mechanism of how people become hypertensive. New careers and fields are developing that helps us to understand our surroundings better. People seek to be part of the new field and their mindset is changed. This creates a stronger generation.

In the past, with a lot of time lost in physical labor, we had limited time for developing our personality or career. Now with the inventions like microwave, or a car, vacuum cleaner that help us in our daily life to not worry about the mundane things. People have sufficient time to develop their career or be active in social activities. All of these ultimately boosting their personality and making them more self-confident and poised.

There are always two sides of the coin. The technologies, which bring us all the luxuries and conveniences, also make us dependent on them and lazy. A cash register may be doing more of the calculations otherwise we might be doing ourselves. It can also be seen that it saves a lot of resources and makes the cashier job more efficient and well organized.

In conclusion, luxuries and conveniences act as a bolster to our development both personal and professional. It makes us use our human abilities and take it to the next level.