The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Studying a culture is a great way to understand the people and their ways of life. It gives a lot of information on the differnt culture that we are unaware of. Many methods of studies have been developed by known anthropologist. However, Dr.Karp's agrument about inaccuracy of the methods of Dr. Field's understanding the tribes of Tertia in child rearing is not supported by the following evidence. Hence, I would like to question the validity of the argument.

Dr. Karp mentions Dr. Field's observational methods to be inaccurate. The time period of Dr. Filed's methods was done twenty years ago. It is a long time back in history and I would like to assume that people were more undeveloped during that time. The tribes of Tertia may be mostly living as a unit where they consider all the children to be as their own. Hence, the child reared by the whole village. As more modernisation came to the tribes of Tertia, the families separate and the families now take care of their own children. This could weaken Dr. Karp's argument.

The reason now that the tribes of Tertia raising their own children might be a result of continuous fights among the families. The intertribal fights might have divided the family and now the tribes take care of their own children. Dr. Karp doesnot have any data to contradict this fact in this argument. This doesnot weaken the methods used by Dr. Field.

Interviewing a great way to know more details of the people in island of Tertia. Interview is more of an organized way of knowing the information. the direction of the interview is lead by the questions asked in the interview. Maybe the graduate students asked the children of Tertia only questions about their biological parents and not the village rearing culture. Dr. Karp hasn't mentioned about the questions he used in his interview methods. Hence without the information, the validity of the argument is questionable.

Interviewing methods could be more established and would provide an accurate understanding on the child -rearing traditions of Tertia and other islands. More focus on the right questions and understanding changes among the tribes may give a better assessment. Hence I would ask the committee to have more data available before making a decision.