The following appeared in a memo from the manager of UpperCuts hair salon:

“According to a nationwide demographic study, more and more people today are moving

from suburbs to downtown areas. In order to boost sagging profits at UpperCuts, we should

take advantage of this trend by relocating the salon from its current location in Apton’s

suburban mall to downtown Apton, while retaining the salon’s decidedly upscale ambiance.

Besides, Hair-Dooz, our chief competitor at the mall, has just relocated downtown and is

thriving at its new location, and the most prosperous hair salon in nearby Brainard is located

in that city’s downtown area. By emulating the locations of these two successful salons,

UpperCuts is certain to attract more customers.”

Discuss how well-reasoned you find this argument

The manager of uppercuts hair salon believes that there is moving trend in the city that more and more people are moving from suburbs to downtown and his business has to use the advantage of this trend to make more profit by relocating his business form current location to downtown Apton. He also argues that Hir-Dooz and Brainard that located in the downtown are so successful, therefore, he believes that if they relocate his shop, he will be able to attract more customers. In my view these reasons that have been provided by the writer are not convincing and I will discuss about them in the following paragraphs.

First, the writer relies on some non-economic studies to make economic decision. The first problem with this assumption is that how he can truth these studies, whether these studies have done by renown scientists. Second problem is that based on economic theories in order to evaluate on economic decision you should not rely on just one thing, because economic decisions are affected by different factors that the writer do not consider. You can take my cousin as the best example for this case. Once in my country all people like to buy French clothes, hence he started to sell French clothes, but he could not be success, since he did not consider this fact that people like to buy these clothes from one certain shop.

Second, the writer believes that because of successful of other two shops in the downtown, he will be able to attract many costumers. The main problem of this argument is that he considers the appearance, I mean that he just thinks about profits that these shops can gain, and he does not think about the facts and assumption behind of these shops' successful. In this regard, I can say that, he has to know that may they have some advantages that he does not have. For example, may people in the downtown like their styles, but will not like his style, hence if he goes to downtown, he cannot be success.

In brief, as I discussed in the previous paragraphs, the manager of Upper-cut hire salon provided some assumptions and facts and based on concluded that he has to relocate his shop to downtown. In contrast, I argued that this conclusion is not correct, because first, he relies on non-economic studies to make economic decision and he do not account for different facts that will have effect on his business, second, he did not that facts that are behind of other shops decisions.