The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of "Bargain Brand" Cereals.

One year ago we introduced our first product, "Bargain Brand" breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices, and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success selling cereal, Bargain Brand should now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible.

The author o the argument claims that due to the remarkable gravitations of costumers from other companies toward the author's company because of the inexpensive breakfast cereals, the company should plan to reduce the other foods as soon as possible. Although the argument may seem thoroughly correct in first look, it is flawed for numerous reasons and the argument is rife with several assumption and holes, and thus not strong enough to encourage the company to move toward the cheap foods.

The author bases the claim partly to the fact that the people found out a convincing tendency toward the company's cereals because of its low price in compared to other companies. Nevertheless, the author fails to provide any justification that during the one year, the taste and desires of people may greatly be changed and not have had a tendency to the cereals, or perhaps in current year the economic situations of them improve. Moreover, the study may not be true if the sample size of population is low, because we cannot generalize the desire of minority of people to the majorities. Therefore, the argument can be stronger if it gives clear assumptions about the population size and the situations of people in different fields.

In further support of the argument, the author points out that the company should mitigate the price of other products in order to attract many costumers. However, the author also leaves many other unanswered questions, Even if the reducing of cereals was a precise and correct plan, it would possibly not correct path in applying the same policy for other products, because the initial material of other foods have had a heavy prices and the selling of those foods cannot guarantee the whole profits of the company. In addition, other companies would mitigate their whole prices due to the other factors which has not relation to the competition.

On the other hand, even though the author claims that the other companies reduces their cereals price in competition market, it can be due to the other parameters such as low gravitation of those companies to the cereals and enhancing the cost of other food products, or perhaps they have achieved to a better statues from economic point of view. Thus, the author must pay a thorough attention to the reasons of the price mitigating of other companies to encourage the company to the reduce its prices.

To sum up, because the argument is lack of any informative and warranted assumptions, the author sharply fails to make a convincing mood in administrations of the company to cheap the other products.