The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memo shows the company's future plan to continue their famous alpaca overcoat after discontinuation of five years. Company thinks that this will be a game changer in the current market. Which makes high profit. Because company will charge high with respect to it's high demand. And this is why company should start the production again. There are several mismatch assumption taken in consideration here. The main flaw here is the showing of people demand after long five years for same outdated product. Because in five years people will settle with new products in the market. The second flaw is thinking of charging high for the same old product.

The main flaw here is to think that people still want alpaca overcoat. Because company discontinue it five years ago. No doubt that at that time it may be highly popular. But you can not extrapolate five years bygone trend to current trend. Because there may be new products in the market which people adopt against alpaca overcoat. And people have very less tendency to return back to the five years old fashion trend. The assumption that people crying for the product may be an exaggeration because there is possibility that only who are surveyed only wants product back. We can not generalize the small survey to census of whole mass. And people may even forget about five years old product. Because in new market there is new innovation coming everyday. So think that overcoat get huge response from people may be apocryphal.

The second flaw shoots up here is "memo claims that due to high demand on survey they can charge higher price for overcoat." This is sense less thinking. Because today people have many substitutes which come up in last five years. And they may be even cheaper than actual value of the coat. So if company will charge higher there may be huge lapse in his loyal customers. Because today they also settled with new product. Because every person need overcoat in last five years. And there may be many new companies which takes advantage of that opportunity and provide good quality product than alpaca even at cheaper rate.

The memo says that alpaca overcoat which is discontinued due to problem in obtaining reliable quality of wool may be solved. Here we have to think that if the supply fails again than what? The company will have to again stop production. This make company in heavy loss of time and labour. This is a serious concern because this happened in past also. That's why company had to discontinued the product. So before going any further company has to check the reliability of good quality wool supply chain.

So from these all flaws we can infer that company may not get what is stated in memo. Because there are many factors like five years gap, New products, Current trend affect the assumption. People may even reject the product because of it's old fashion design. So before going in any detail company must consider all aspects with trustable survey. These points show that starting production of alpaca overcoat again may not be successful and give company a high profit.