The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, president of Bowler Builders says that as the family rooms and kitchens become bigger, their sales will also flourish. In my opinion, while the above statement might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that if not substantiated would dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument; therefore, the following three questions must be answered.

Firstly, the nationwide survey which was taken, to which extent is it reliable? The author states that people adore large kitchens and living rooms. Perhaps, the survey was conducted to people who were rich. Frugal people might not prefer large rooms, since they won’t be able to afford it whereas affluent people would be glad to buy homes with large rooms. Maybe, survey was conducted in metropolitan cities and towns other than villages. If survey were conducted in rural areas, maybe people would have preferred small houses with small living rooms and kitchens. Thus, the memo doesn’t give clear information about the type of people who would buy their houses.

Secondly, will all people be happy with the ‘state-of-art’ kitchens? The author states that as their sales increased, people will prefer their products and should make their kitchen models a standard feature. Perhaps, people who are buying house from bower builders were unemployed and had to cook. But what about working employees? Were they not buyers? Employees mostly prefer to eat in restaurants instead of eating meals in their houses. Maybe, their buildings were located near their company. To sum up, we don’t know the location in which the houses are located, if it is surrounded by companies, then kitchen won’t be preferred whereas, if it were a place old retired people, then prefer kitchens. So, it is unclear of whether people prefer their standard kitchens.

Finally, who are these recent buyers? The author states that recent customers are not in need of separate dining rooms. Perhaps, those people were frugal and were in need to reduce their living expenses. Maybe, they started to buy houses because they found prices to be cheap. The reduced expenses might be due to reduce in size of rooms. Hence, Domus construction strategy might not work because people prefer smaller rooms. But, it is presumptuous and dangerous to think so. Hence, the author has to give information about the economy of his nation.

In conclusion, the memo is considered to be flawed and relies on several unstated evidences. If the author is able to provide the above three pieces of evidences and perhaps perform a systematic study, then it would be possible to determine whether large living rooms and large kitchens would be compatible with the economy.