The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The vice president of a company suggests in his memo that Appian Roadways should be hired rather than Good Intentions Roadways to construct access roads for the company’s new shopping malls. He has supported his recommendation by comparing the road work done by the two companies and stating that Appian Roadways have recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality control manager. However, his reasoning is based on many fallacious assumptions underlined below.

While comparing the road work done by the two companies, the vice president has presumed that Route 101 and Route 40 are same in all respect. He has however not provided any data to support his assumption. Route 101 could be an access road to a highway or a highway which heavy trucks and high-speed vehicles use regularly. On the contrary, Route 40 could be a road in the suburbs which is less frequented. Under such a condition, damage to Route 101 will surely be greater than to Route 40. Secondly, the environmental conditions of the regions where the roads are built also need to be considered. Route 101 could be a road along the coast or on a hill or areas prone to hurricanes. Natural calamities like large waves, landslides and hurricanes could have been responsible for the road damage. Unless the author clearly states that the two roads being compared are similar to each other in every respect, it would be erroneous to conclude the Appian Roadways built better and long lasting roads than Good Intentions Roadways.

The authors claim that Appian Roadways should be given the contract to construct access roads to malls based on their new purchase of instrument and newly hired quality control manager is also undermined by the fact that he has not provided any proof to indicate that the new instruments or the new employee are capable enough to do their job. The author should clarify how the new instrument will improve the construction work done by Appian Roadways. Previous work experience of the new quality control manager should also be provided to support his claim that the new employee has prior experience and good work ethics.

Before the company hires a roadwork agency to build access roads there are several other questions which should be considered, for example: Does any of the companies have prior experience of completing a job like this? Do the companies provide nationwide roadwork service? Do the companies have the work force required to pull off a large project like the one being offered? The author has failed to consider these crucial questions before concluding that Appian Roadways should be given the contract.

Lastly, the author has concluded that the roads built by Appian will last for four years. This again is based on the assumption that Route 40 and the access roads to the malls will be identical – however, there is no data to support this conclusion.

It is evident from the points discussed above that the recommendation is fallacious and based on numerous assumptions without any proof to support them. Unless the concerns raised are answered and substantiated with unbiased results comparing the work done by the two companies to greater details, it would be dubious to give the contract to Appian Roadworks and believe that the roads they construct will last for four years.