The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memo, it is stated that the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot can be minimized by reducing the working hour of the job by one hour. The author has come to this conclusion on the basis of less on-the-job accidents at the nearby Panoply Industries because they have one hour shorter job duration. Although at first glance, the author's recommendation apprears to be somewhat convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is based on three unwarranted assumptions.

To begin with, the author's claim relies on the assumption that the nearby Panoply Industries plant outcome is representative of Quiot Manufacturing. It is possible that the Panoply Industries plant have skilled workers, whereas Quiot manufacturing employees are not skilled much. It is also possible that the Panoply Industries plant does not require high skilled employees, but Quiot Manufacturing may require refined and skillful workers. If either of these scenarios is true, then the recommendation is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, the conclusion also relies on the unstated assumption that on-the-job accidents in Quiot Manufacturing occurs because of fatigueness and less sleep of employees. Perhaps, the employees in Quiot Manufacturing are getting sufficient amount of sleep but may be the employees are not skilled enough to operate machines in the work environment. Maybe employees need to be trained for operating such demanding machine. If the above example holds merit, then the original conclusion drawn does not hold water.

Additionally, even if the above stated assumptions are false, can we assume that the shortening of working duration by one hour will reduce the fatigueness and sleep depriveness among the employees resulting in less on-the-job accidents? Perhaps, even after the reduction, the number of on-the-job accidents does not change or become less. It is possible that the real reason of on-the-job accidents is because of other reason than fatigueness and sleep deprivation. As stated in the above assumption, the reson for occurence of such accidents is may be the demanding need of the machine or machine is too risky to handle by new employee. If the above scenario is true, then the recommendation is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation as it stands now is full of flaws due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more reliable data for the above assumptions and offer more evidence (probably in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to reduce the working duration by one hour.