The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from the vice presidents suggests that the in order to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at quiot manufacturing and thereby increase productivity, they must reduce the work shifts by an hour. this recommendation is entrenched on the premise that experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among works are factors directly propotional to the quantity of on-th-job accidents. Further, the memo also cites that quiot manufacturing has 30 percent more such accidents as compared to panoply industries where the work shift is one hour shorter than ouiot Manudacturing. However, before any serious action is taken based on the memo, we need to evaluate the following three unstated assumptions.

First, the vice president assumes that the number of employees are roughly comparable at ouiot manufacturing as compared to panoply industries. Maybe the ouiot manufacturing has 10 times the number of employees as in panoply industries and a larger manufacturing plant. consequently, it would be prudent to assume that although there are more number of on-the-job accidents at ouiot manufacturing, the total number of accidents per employee is far less than expected. this would mean that the quiot manufacturing is outperforming panoply industries w.r.t the number of errors per employee and what may apply at panoply industries may not apply at quiot manufacturing.

Second, the vice president assumes that the underlying tecnologies -- including machineries and equipments -- at ouiot manufacturing is comparable to panoply industries. it may be possible that panoply industries may be using more advanced equipments designed to avoid on-the-job accidents. it may also be possible that the machines at quiot manufacturing are old and in a dilapidated condition making them more suseciptable to human errors. consequently, if any of the above situations are true then the vice president's argument holds not water.

Last but not the least, the vice president assumes that the quality and education of employees at ouiot manufacturing is simliar to that of panoply industries. perhaps the employees at panoply industries have higher skill and education than those at ouiot manufacturing - perhaps because of the higher pay at panoply industries. it may also be possible that panoply industries is spending significantly larger quantities of their revenue in educating their employees thereby reducing the on-the-job errors. Accordingly, if the above assumptions holds true, the vice presidents solution shall bear little fruit.

In conclusion, the seemingly cogent argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unwaranted assumptions. but if the vice president is able to provide substantial resaons to cross out the unwarranted assumptions (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), we may be able to exhaustively evaluate the viability of the aforementioned recommendation.