The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation comittee for the city of calatrava suggests that since there will be an overall decrease in the population of children along with an increase in the population of adults, the funds currently directed towards education, athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities can be diverted towards the programs used primarily by adults. this comittee bolsters this argument by citing that last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Before taking any serious action, we must analyse the following three evidences missing in the argument

First, we must figure out the number of abortions, miscarriages, and sale of contraceptive pills. The comittee states, without evidence, that the number of children will decrease in the upcoming years. this is based on the assumption that since the birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago, the birthrate for the upcomming years will follow the same trend. it may have happened that last year, the birthrate may have declined due to an increase in the number of abortions, miscarriages and sale of contraceptive pills. number of abortions and contraceptive pills may also have increase in case there was a lethal epidemic outburst last year, preventing people from visiting hospitals for purposes such as pregnancy. Hence acting on the recommendation without confirming these numbers may be a foolhardy task.

Second, we need to find the age group and the number of immigrants expected to arrive in the city of calatrava. Even if last year was a normal year, t may also be possible that there is an expected increase in the number of immigrant families with children in the upcoming years which would lead to a surge in the demand for schools. if the age of the immigrants is around 30 years and they are expecting to have a child in the next year or two, a decrease in the funding to the public schools may have a detrimental effect on their plans, thereby boding ill for the city of calatrava itself. Accordingly it becomes imperative to figure out not only the expected number of immigrant families in the upcoming years but also the age of individuals in those families.

last but not the least, we must find out the type of athletic playing fields present in the city of calatrava. if these fields are catering to the needs to adults, removing funding for such fields may not be a prudent decision.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to few missing evidences. if the committe is able to provide the three aforementioned missing evidences (perhaps via systematic research or survys) then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation by the planning committee.